This article is related to PromoteMyPlace Version 2 only. Not sure which version of the application you're using? See Which version of PromoteMyPlace am I using?
Pages go through several statuses as you are working with them on your website.
Here is what they are and what each means:
- Draft – The page is offline and not accessible on the internet
- Published – The page is online and accessible on the internet
- Publish Pending – The page has changes that are yet to be put live on the website
Adding a New Page
When you add a new page to your website it will be saved as draft. This means it will not be accessible to anybody else and you can make changes until you are ready for it to go live.
You can preview draft pages by selecting ‘Actions > Preview’.
When you're happy with the page and you want to publish it select ‘Actions > Publish’
This will set the page to a status of ‘Publish Pending’ which means it will be published when you next publish all the changes that you’ve made to the website.
To publish all pending changes for your website click the orange ‘Publish Changes’ button at the top of the screen.
Once the website changes have been published any pages that were set to ‘Publish Pending’ status will now be accessible online.
Editing a Published Page
When you edit a page that has already been published the status of the page will automatically be set to ‘Publish Pending’
You can preview changes that you’ve made to the page by selecting ‘Actions > Preview’ against the page.
When you are ready to put those changes live you can publish them by clicking the orange ‘Publish Changes’ button at the top of the screen.
Once the website changes have been published any pages that were ‘Publish Pending’ status will be accessible online.
Unpublishing a Page - Taking it Offline
You can take a published page offline by unpublishing it.
Please note that this means it will no longer be available on your website until you publish it again.
To unpublish a page and take it offline select ‘Actions > Unpublish’
This will set the page to a status of ‘Draft’ and take it offline with immediate effect.